Philadelphia Style's 2019 Best of Style Guide: Beauty

By The Editors | July 16, 2019 | Lifestyle Style & Beauty

BOMBSHELL BLOWOUTS

Amanda D’Andrea Hair (13037 Bustleton Ave., amandadandrea.com) Amanda D’Andrea provides on-site service for trendy and beautiful updos, blowouts and more.

Gina Maria’s Hair Studio (984C Bristol Pike, Bensalem, Pa., ginamariashairstudio.com) Summer’s trademark beach waves are made effortless with a body wave treatment at Gina Maria’s salon.

Sulimay’s Hair Design (Multiple locations, sulimayshair.com) Eliminate summer frizz with a Brazilian blowout or keratin treatment at any of Sulimay’s four locations.

Salon Thalia (1520 Locust St., salonthalia.com) Center City’s upscale, contemporary salon offers a wide variety of hair and makeup services such as professional-level color perms, lash extensions and keratin treatments.

bodybeautylab.jpg

STEWARD STYLISTS

Artur Kirsh Salon (Multiple locations, arturkirshsalon.com) Kirsh’s premier hair studios attract Philadelphia notables for expert cuts.

Giovanni & Pileggi (308 S. 12th St., giovannipileggi.com) With more than 20 years in Philadelphia, Giovanni Mele tends to some of the most recognizable tresses in the city.

Laurentius Salon (815 Christian St., laurentiussalon.com) Walk out feeling like new thanks to Laurentius Purnama.

Martino Cartier (304 Hurffville Crosskeys Road, Sewell, N.J., martinocartier.com) Martino Cartier and his team of all-star stylists offer a celebrity salon experience in South Jersey.

Rittenhouse Spa & Salon — Hair by Paul Labrecque (210 W. Rittenhouse Square, therittenhousespaclub.com) Spend a day with NewYork City’s acclaimed stylist Paul Labrecque as he breathes new life into your tresses before indulging in any of the spa’s luxurious treatments.

Salon Vanity (1701 Walnut St., Third Floor, salonvanity.com) Pair your cut and color with a texturizing treatment at Edmondo Blando’s top Center City salon.

COLOR THEORY

Architeqt Salon & Gallery (Multiple locations, architeqtsalon.com) Thanks to the salon’s L’Oréal Power Dose, color-treated hair has an extra level of protection.

The Color Room (Multiple locations, thecoloroom.com) The South Jersey salon is opening a new Philadelphia location in Rittenhouse this fall for all of your balayage and ombre needs.

Jay Michael Salon (595 Lancaster Ave., St. Davids, Pa., jaymichael.com) Book an appointment with veteran stylist Jay Michael for a major color upgrade.

Salon Norman Dee (2550 Grant Ave., Ste. 100, salonnormandee.com) Punch up your look with a vibrant new hue at this Northeast favorite.

Salon Ziza (6 Greenfield Ave., Ardmore, Pa., salonziza.com) Suburban tastemakers maintain their tresses at Ziza.

COOL CUTS

Adolf Biecker (Multiple locations, adolfbiecker.com) Aveda products line the shelves at this longtime Philadelphia favorite.

Blue A Hair Studio (2550 Huntingdon Pike, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., bluehairstudio.com) Known for the latest styles, Blue A Hair Studio also has a second-floor beauty counter and a separate building for spa treatments.

DAPR (125 S. 18th St., 2nd Floor, staydapr.com) The bespoke grooming destination expertly performs cuts and classic hot shaves in one-of-a-kind barber chairs.

SignaCurl (116 S. 19th St., signacurl.com) Premier hairstylist Joseph Lentini blurs the line between trendy and classic styles that meet the visions of every client.

ESSENTIAL EXTRAS

Baked Sunless Tanning (740 S. Fourth St., bakedtanning.com) Fake a fresh-off-the-beach glow with customizable organic spray tans.

Deneen Marcel Lashes (2007 Chestnut St., dmlashes.com) From flirty to full volume, eyelash-extension maven Deneen Marcel helps you find your best style.

Forever Valentine Beauty (1901 S. Ninth St., forevervalentinebeauty.com) Rock perfect no-fuss brows every day thanks to Kelly Haney’s permanent cosmetics studio.

International Salon (1714 Sansom St., internationalsalonphila.com) Emma Potievski Sherby and family are in the business of keeping Rittenhouse clients looking their best every day and for every event.

Lacquer Lounge (Multiple locations, lacquerlounge.com) Nail design takes an Instagram-worthy turn at this chic beauty emporium.

Ooh La La Salon and Style Bar (3100 Boothwyn Road, Boothwyn, Pa., oohlalaspaandsalon.com)Your go-to place for all your beauty needs—from hair extensions to blowouts and all-day wedding glam.

Sun Myst Tanning (124 S. 16th St., mysunmyst.com) Sun Myst’s all-natural formulas are packed with skin-firming, anti-aging ingredients.

SWEAT IT OUT

Everybody Fights (1900 Market St., everybodyfights.com) No matter your skillset, step into the ring at former pro-boxer George Foreman III’s boxing club.

Fitler Club (2400 Market St., fitlerclub.com)This members-only club boasts state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including Peloton bikes, a 20-foot climbing wall, and a three-lane lap pool.

Level 28 (2929 Walnut St., stayaka.com) AKA University City’s exclusive new club offers the latest and greatest in wellness and relaxation amenities, including everything from a pool in the sky to private massage rooms.

Riva Health + Wellness (1 Brown St., Ste. C, rivahealthwellness.com) Focus on all-things wellness at Riva with luxurious spa treatments, Barre classes, and personal nutrition.

Rumble Boxing (1520 Walnut St., rumble-boxing.com) Philly’s newest boxing joint is Kendall Jenner-approved.

The Sporting Club at The Bellevue (224 S. Broad St., sportingclubbellevue.com) This membership-only fitness club has over 120 classes, along with a studio reserved for cardio boxing.

Zarett Rehab and Fitness (520 S. 19th St., zarettrehab.com) The choice physical therapy center for collegiate and professional sports teams also offers personally designed fitness programs.

rumble.jpg

MAKEUP MAVENS

Ani White Cosmetics (535 Street Road, Southampton, Pa., aniwhite.net) Known for being the East Coast’s premier brow artist, White’s full-service salon tends to all your beauty needs from natural-looking eyebrows to flawless makeup.

AMG Beauty Bar (3140 Ridge Pike, Eagleville, Pa., amgbeautybar.com) Besides makeup, owner Ashley Marie Gallo offers services like microblogging and waxing.

Beke Beau (4100 Main St., Ste. 401, bekebeau.com) Beau goes beyond just gorgeous wedding makeup—book a workshop or private lesson for some of her secrets.

Jessica Saint Beauty (1901 S. Ninth St., Ste. 406, jessicasaint.com) Facials, lash tints and brow shaping are just a few of the services this makeup artist offers at her South Philly salon.

JKo Beauty (jkobeauty.com) On-location makeup artists get clients photo-ready right at home.

PRETTY SMILES

Brandywine Oral Surgery (Multiple locations, brandywineoralsurgery.com) Dr. Peter M. Famiglio and his team have the latest advancements in dental implant technology.

The Dental Spa (1601 Walnut St., Ste. 704, phillydentalspa.com) Drs. Paul T. Berson, Harold B.Yaffe and Jeremy Kay bring the latest dental treatments to Philadelphia.

Lindsey Marshall, DMD (32 Parking Plaza, Ste. 800, Ardmore, Pa., lindseymarshall.com) Dr. Marshall takes a comprehensive approach to dental health and appearance.

Natoli Dental (188 Fries Mill Road, Ste. M5,Turnersville, N.J., natolidental.com) Visit Dr. Joseph N. Natoli for top cosmetic dental services.

Rittenhouse Orthodontics (1518 Walnut St., Ste. 500, rittenhouseorthodontics.com) Dr. Orhan Tuncay is a leader in the field of orthodontics and helped develop the Invisalign system.

SPA DAY

AME Salon & Spa (111 Waynewood Ave., Wayne, Pa., amesalonandspa.com) Book signature spa services like the Japanese Soak and Massage.

Calista Salon & Spa (1211 Wilmington Pike, West Chester, Pa., calistasalonandspa.com) Promoting beauty and wellness under one roof, Calista is all about exceptional services.

CURE de Repos (8133 Germantown Ave., curederepos.com) High-end services and skincare products pair with a laid-back atmosphere at this Chestnut Hill spa.

Immersion Spa at The Water Club (1 Borgata Way, Atlantic City, N.J., theborgata.com) Embrace relaxation through body wraps and massages at the two-story spa featuring 16 treatments rooms and 360-degree floor-to-ceiling water views.

Le Rêve Rittenhouse Day Spa (255 S. 17th St., lereverittenhousespa.com) After a long day, treat yourself to a 60-minute four-handed massage therapy.

Richel D’Ambra Spa & Salon (10 Avenue of the Arts, richeldambra.com) The menu of seasonal services include a Vitamin C Time Reverse Facial that will reawaken your skin with vitamin C and tripeptides.

TREATMENT ENVY

About Face (1015 Chestnut St., Ste. 1205, aboutfaceskincare.com) Custom skincare plans and procedures at this Center City boutique guarantee, you will love the skin you’re in.

Essent Spa (595 E. Lancaster Ave., St. Davids, Pa., essentspa.com) Main Liners flock to the Radnor Hotel’s spa for resort-style pampering services.

kellie MAC beauty lounge (1502 West Chester Pike, Ste. 7, West Chester, Pa., kelliemac.com) From spray tans to makeup, this premier boutique salon is your one-stop shop for looking and feeling your best.

Oggi Salon & Spa (1700 Locust St., oggisalonandspa.com) Treat yourself to the Hungarian Moor Mud Wrap.

DOCTOR'S ORDERS

Brandow Clinic (Multiple locations, brandowclinic.com) Dr. Kirk Brandow specializes in plastic surgery from cosmetic injectables and body contours to trifecta face peels.

Claytor Noone Plastic Surgery (135 S. Bryn Mawr Ave., Bryn Mawr, Pa., cnplasticsurgery.com) Focused on enhancing confidence, specialized cosmetic surgeries and nonsurgical procedures are offered as individualized treatment plans for those seeking exceptional results.

Louis P. Bucky MD, FACS (Multiple locations, drbucky.com) Reclaim your shape with the latest cosmetic procedures and noninvasive treatments.

Dr. Nazanin Saedi (833 Chestnut St., Ste. 702, doctorsaedi.com) This Jefferson Health dermatologist promises the skin of your dreams with injection and laser treatment plans.

Penn Plastic Surgery (Multiple locations, pennmedicine.org) Performing more than 2,500 reconstructive and cosmetic surgeries each year, this team of doctors includes some of the tops in the industry.

MEDISPAS

Body+Beauty Lab (834 Chestnut St., Ste. #104, bodyandbeauty.com) The medispa recently announced a partnership with Jefferson Health, a first in the region.

deme (Multiple locations, demecosmetic.com) With A-to-Z beauty services, from dental and cosmetic procedures to facials and more, deme helps put your best face forward.

Discover Optimal Healthcare (3605 Edgemont Ave., Brookhaven, PA, dohealth.net) An experienced traditional and holistic medical staff guides you on your path to supreme wellness, inside and out.

Forever Young Med Spa (1522 Locust St., foreveryoungmedspas.com) Anti-aging and body contouring treatments deliver for patients who want to improve their appearance.

Glo Derma (204 Floral Vale Blvd., Yardley, PA, gloderma.com) Host a glamorous girls’ night out at this Bucks County medispa. Sip Champagne and indulge in treatments such as injectables, facials, and massages



Photography by: Body + Beauty Lab Photo by Matt Wargo, Rumble Boxing Photo courtesy of Trapp Fotos