Philadelphia Style's 2019 Best of Style Guide: Home

By The Editors | July 16, 2019 | Home & Real Estate Lifestyle

The city has many wonders—exquisite salons, restaurants, and boutiques that deliver the finest experiences in life. Here, a gathering of the most wonderful of them all.

home1.jpg

SHOW(ROOM)STOPPERS

BoConcept (1719 Chestnut St., boconcept.com) Sleek furnishings at this Danish design company elevate your interiors thanks to co-designing services.

Grossman Furniture (206 Arch St., grossmanfurniture.com) Old City’s furniture store is packed with preferred names like Carter, Highland House, and Stanley.

Unique Interiors (1604 NJ-70, Cherry Hill, N.J., uniqueinteriors.com) Shoppers can choose from over 100 brands, including Selva, Chintaly Imports and Stone International.

DETAILS, DETAILS

Closet Factory (7 Eves Drive, Ste. 150, Marlton, N.J., closetfactory.com) Create custom-designed closets from walk-ins to wardrobes.

Main Line Audio/Video (503 Lancaster Ave., #800, Wayne, Pa., mainlinesv.com) Turn your house into a smart home with the help of this nationally ranked entertainment- system service.

The Organizing Professionals (theorganizingprofessionals.com) This team of experts will organize and declutter everything from closets to workspaces.

Parisa Rugs & Décor (33 N. Third St., parisarugs.com) The boutique rug and design gallery hand-selects pieces— bringing shoppers the most elaborate and unique rugs in the city.

The Shade Store (1725 Chestnut St., www.theshadestore.com) The masters of American-made, handcrafted designer drapery and motorized shades.

World Wide Stereo (38 Greenfield Ave., Ardmore, Pa., worldwidestereo.com) High-end home technologies illuminate the showroom, including home theater designs and whole-house automation systems.

Zakian Rugs (4930 W. Parkside Ave., zakianrugs.com) Choose from hundreds of the most luxurious designs from high-end collections like Couristan, Momeni, and Prestige.

FRAME OF MIND

Bridgette Mayer Gallery (709 Walnut St., bridgettemayergallery.com) Expect contemporary pieces from major artists and local favorites such as Neil Anderson, Eileen Neff, and Sean Scully.

Devon Fine Art (1604 E. Lancaster Ave., Paoli, Pa., devonfineartllc.com) A tailored gallery for art buffs to discover new pieces and collect classics by the likes of Roy Lichtenstein and more.

Wexler Gallery (201 N.Third St., wexlergallery.com) A gallery that exhibits fine art, contemporary glass, studio furniture and ceramics in Old City.

FINE FURNISHINGS

Jimmy DeLaurentis (jimmydelaurentis.com) The Philly native keeps busy as the creative mind behind JAMES, private label furniture.

Luxe Home Philadelphia (1308 Chestnut St., luxehomephiladelphia.com) Whichever room needs sprucing, this Philly-based company can do it—with a modish spin.

Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams (King of Prussia Mall, mgbwhome.com) Tucked in the showroom are distinctly modern furnishings that have a focus on comfort and style.

Roche Bobois (311 Arch St., roche-bobois.com) The French design company’s collection of sleek furnishings is perfect for contemporary tastes.

Usona (1633 Locust St., usonahome.com) Peruse the Center City retailer’s dining room, office, walk-in closet, and wall-unit collections.

PRETTY PETALS

home3.jpg

Beautiful Blooms (1016 New Market St., beautifulblooms.com)The Northern Liberties event design and planning shop guarantees beautiful floral arrangements for intimate gatherings, special occasions and beyond.

Carl Alan Floral Designs (1700 Market St., carlalan.com) Philadelphia’s 100-year-old floral design firm creates sweeping displays for weddings, mitzvahs and more.

Evantine Design (715 Walnut St., evantinedesign.com) Create custom floral arrangements and shop a variety of lifestyle gifts at Brian Kappra’s luxury gift and event design boutique.

Fabufloras (Multiple locations, fabufloras.com) Kerry Fabrizio’s custom and creative designs have transformed venues all over the region.

Ten Pennies Florist (1921 S. Broad St., tenpenniesfloral.com) For more than 30 years in Philly, the shop’s experts have been arranging bouquets, gift baskets and more.

SHINE A LIGHT

Bright Light Design Center (Multiple locations, brightlightdesigncenter.com) Bright Light’s Center City location features a customSuspendersinstallationanda Baccarat 24-light chandelier.

Denney Electric Supply (Multiple locations, denneyelectricsupply.com) Fitting Philly’s light and electrical fixtures since 1938, Denney Electric has every item you’ll need to brighten your home.

Ferguson Kitchen & Lighting Gallery (302 Hansen Access Road, King of Prussia, Pa., ferguson.com) Your one-stop-shop for all things plumbing, lighting, heating, and hardware.

KITCHEN ENVY

home2.jpg

Colonial Marble & Granite (Multiple locations, colonialmarble.net) Carrying granite, natural wood, and limestone, Colonial is the leading stone fabrication and installation company in the area.

Fretz (4050 S. 26th St., fretz.com) Visit the Navy Yard showroom for Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Cove products.

Gerhard’s Appliances (Multiple locations, gerhardsappliance.com) From Bertazzoni kitchen ranges to Lynx professional grills, a home chef ’s dream entertainment space awaits.

Joanne Hudson Kitchens (2403 Chestnut St., joannehudson.com) The first name in kitchen design in Philly, Hudson also has her own line of tile and stone.

Poggenpohl (230 N. Second St., poggenpohl.com) Contemporary kitchens—think clean, simple, thoughtful design—come to life at this 125-year-old German brand.



Photography by: Usona furniture photo courtesy of Usona, Photos by Darren Phillip Jones/ Courtesy of Poggenpohl Philadelphia